The Walter Cronkite Faith and Freedom Award

The Interfaith Alliance is an American organization seeking to promote religious freedom and challenge extremism. In 1998, the alliance inaugurated its annual Walter Cronkite Faith and Freedom Award to honor those who have addressed divisive issues with tolerance, respect, and civility. Past winners include news anchor Tom Brokaw, journalists Bill and Judith Moyers, former congressman Amo Houghton, and actor George Clooney, among others.

In 2001, the award went to Representative Chet Edwards and Rabbi Steven B. Jacobs. Rabbi Jacobs was recognized for, in the face of escalating violence in the Middle East, fostering dialogue among Southern California’s Muslim and Jewish citizens. He was also praised for his work toward bringing together the African American and Jewish communities to fight for workers’ rights and voting privileges.

After retiring to emeritus status in 2007, Rabbi Steven B. Jacobs founded the Progressive Faith Foundation in Calabasas, California, to advance relations among followers of Christianity, Judaism, and Islam.

This entry was posted in Spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s