Rabbi Steven Jacobs – The Walter Cronkite Faith and Freedom Award

A renowned retired California rabbi, Rabbi Steven Jacobs has assisted several humanitarian groups such as the Progressive Faith Foundation and the Black-Jewish Coalition. In 2001, Rabbi Steven Jacobs received the Walter Cronkite Faith and Freedom Award for his achievements in interfaith dialogue, labor rights, and racial justice.

Given by the Interfaith Alliance every year, the Walter Cronkite Faith and Freedom Award celebrates individuals who encourage democratic values and civic participation. The honor was created in 1998 and named after veteran news personality Walter Cronkite, who also served as the organization’s honorary chairman before passing away in 2009. Those who have won the award demonstrate qualities of tolerance, diversity, and cooperation, teach about controversial issues, and stand up for the rights of others.

Over the past 15 years, numerous notable personalities have received the Walter Cronkite Faith and Freedom Award. The first recipient was Cronkite himself, bestowed for his energetic discussion of the political use of religion. Since then, it has gone to the likes of George Clooney, Tom Brokaw, Larry King, and Judy Shepard. In 2012, the accolade was bestowed upon Mitchell Gold for his accomplishments in the LGBT community.

This entry was posted in Spirituality and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s