The Walter Cronkite Faith and Freedom Award Honors Community Leaders

As a recipient of the prestigious Walter Cronkite Faith and Freedom Award from the Interfaith Alliance, Rabbi Steven B. Jacobs is a proven bastion of tolerance and understanding. Honored with the award in 2001, Rabbi Steven B. Jacobs of the Progressive Faith Foundation stands among other prominent winners as an advocate for equality.

Established by the Interfaith Alliance in 1998, the Walter Cronkite Faith and Freedom Award is, according to the Interfaith Alliance website, reserved for “individuals who courageously promote democratic values, defend religious freedom and reinvigorate informed civic participation.” Named after Walter Cronkite and his efforts to combat religious extremism and promote political accessibility, the award is presented annually in New York City. Walter Cronkite served as honorary chairman of the Interfaith Alliance and personally presented the Faith and Freedom Award until his death in 2009.

Previous recipients of the award include PBS News anchor Jim Lehrer, NBC News anchor Tom Brokaw, ABC News anchor Peter Jennings, U.S. Representatives Chet Edwards and Amo Houghton, CNN’s Larry King, and actor George Clooney.

This entry was posted in Spirituality and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s